Taking Blender 2.63a for a test drive …..sweet!

I know what most Blender-heads would say, version 2.63 has been out for a while.  I have been comfortable with the workflow of 2.49, got it tweaked in a way that’s familiar, and what happens ?  The folks at Blender.org decide to put their efforts into overdrive with version 2.5x and then 2.6x.  I had a copy of 2.57 a played with it on and off, but now its version  2.63, (this time next year it might be up to 2.89). I figure I would give the latest version a shot (thankfully they[the Blender Illuminati] have a solid foundation in place where older blender files work well(with minimal effort) on newer versions).  So I gave it a try, to do a character from scratch … the verdict…extremely polished.  From the features, UI, and extremely flexible setup, 2.63 looks and feels like “top shelf” pro-grade software.  And in a matter of  a couple of hours, I had one more reason to make my nephew laugh.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Savalia Studios on September 11, 2012 - 11:35 pm

    Thanks! nothing annoying about the heads-up, I will keep that in mind (yet another post-it on the monitor! 😉

    P.S.-09/15/12
    The second book I mentioned, by Paul Craven, “Intro to CS Using Python and Pygame”, I took a closer look at it and the Blender python that it has is only 1 program with regards to BGE, not much to chew on on the way of Blender content, but the rest of the book is a decent intro to Python and Pygame

  2. #2 by Hellhound on September 11, 2012 - 1:53 pm

    Looks good. 🙂 One thing you might want to know about bmesh builds of Blender is that they have a bug which will delete the faces off a model that is made in any build before 2.63. Until the bug is fixed you’ll need to tick off “Legacy Mesh Format” when you save your file. Here’s a screenshot of what I mean. http://www.pasteall.org/pic/show.php?id=37607

    Sorry if I’m being a bit annoying, I just learned about this the hard way.

Leave a Reply

